When the One That Got Away….Comes Back

Couple

I was minding my own business.

Staying out of trouble. (Well…I was trying to anyway)

I was just living my life, going to work, and working on my book edits, when out of nowhere…there he was.

This man…whoo…this man, let me tell you. Have you ever known a person who was the real-life equivalent of the complete summation of every dream, desire, and fantasy on any level you’ve ever had? Well, he is that person for me.

We met many years ago, and as irony would have it, he was from Georgia but was moving to California, and I am from California and had recently moved to Georgia. (Yes, ass-backward, I know)

Anyway, we remained friends and since his family is in Georgia, we saw each other whenever he would come to town. Since we lived thousands of miles away, a relationship wasn’t in the cards, but our connection was so strong that we built an unbreakable friendship that has been one of the most treasured relationships I’ve had to this day. Of course, there was always mild flirting, and even with talking each other through our own relationships and dating disasters, a part of me always wondered….what if….?

So I’m sure you’re wondering, (if you don’t know me very well) “Did you tell him how you felt?” And for those of you who do know me well, you already know the answer to that one. Of course I did NOT tell him how I felt for two reasons:

1. I’m dangerously old school and wanted to leave it up to him as the man to make the first move (if any moves were ever going to be made)

2. I didn’t want to wreck the friendship

I went on about my pathetic dating life, but as the years went by, he became more and more prevalent in my thoughts of the type of man I wanted. Everything I so hopefully looked for in each guy I dated was always wrapped up in him:

Intelligent
Chivalrous
HOT
Family oriented
Financially responsible
HOT
Humorous
Compassionate
HOT
Adventurous
Civic-Minded

Um….did I mention HOT? Because he is…VERY (oh my GAWD he is! Whooo..okay…let me get myself together)

Within the past 9 months or so, our communication has picked up and to my surprise, he expressed how he felt and that it had been beyond a friendship for quite sometime. So here I was, finally on the same page with a man who is literally the man of my DREAMS….

And he lives over 2000 miles away. Really?

So now I’m not sure what’s worse: the pathetic non-existent lack of a dating life I’m having with men who live within a 20 mile radius, or knowing that the man I could easily spend eternity with is half way across the country.

Even I can’t wait to see how this will turn out….lol.

6 thoughts on “When the One That Got Away….Comes Back

    1. Yes, I think so too. We’ve been friends for so long that it’s nice to explore going to another level without the “extra” pressure. You have been such a valuable “counselor” to me during this dating process so I’ll definitely keep you posted. I appreciate you! And also…I deleted my messenger app on FB in an effort to stay off social media and finish these book edits, so I JUST saw your message yesterday. Very interesting question and I will be more than happy to answer. I’ll send you a message on FB. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Yes it does indeed although….we have previously “shared experiences”….lol. But with the distance, it forces us to communicate and learn more about each other’s psyches which I’m loving. I’ve known him as my BFF, but getting to know him romantically has been amazing. Thank you SO much for reading my blog! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment